...and now for something completely different: SpaceSims

Moderators: CrazySchmidt, EURO_Snoopy, MaXMhZ, MudPuppy, Proud IL2 ACE

...and now for something completely different: SpaceSims

Postby 3./JG51_Specter on Mon Aug 21, 2006 4:32 am

Now I love zooming around Europe in my FW-190 as much as the next guy, but lately I've been bitten by the space bug. Must be all the late night episodes of Battlestar Galactica I've been catching lately.

shush ... I know I'm a nerd, ya don't have to point it out. I'm an engineer its inevitable.

Anyway, back in the day there were a whole slew of space sims on par with flight sims . Sure there was no flight test data for the X-wing or you couldn't know that the third spar in the wing of a Rapier was the weak link. However, sims like the X-Wing and Wing Commander series tried to approach reality as much as possible, given the fantastic nature.

Everything that I've seen for the past few years has been a story driven roll playing game with space combat thrown in as a side project. Half of them don't even have cockpits. I would describe them like Heroes of the Pacific is to the IL2 series, they are to the X-wing/Wing Commander like sims. All flash and no substance.

Since it is quite possible that I might have missed something, I've had my head in the books for the past few years. Does anyone know of any good space sims out or on the horizon that are more realistic based. I know that is kind of an oxymoron, but I hope my thoughts are making it through. Something for the more serious simmer that enjoys a fullswitch online war in IL2/PF?
3./JG51_Specter
Lance Air Corporal

Postby CrazySchmidt on Mon Aug 21, 2006 9:10 am

I would like to know this also. My first flight sim (kinda), was X-Wing vs Tie Fighter as I was so impressed as a young fella with the whole StarWars thing and really fancied flying really fast in a dog fight sort of scenario and down through narrow corridors on the surface structure of space stations or similar.