GPS logger

Forum for the discussion of Device Link

GPS logger

Postby Dozer_EAF19 on Wed Jan 10, 2007 11:11 pm

Hi folks, I'm quite new to Devicelink. It looks quite exciting - I've just connected a second monitor to my PC and am thinking "Well, how can this be useful in FB?". Plus, I'm an aerospace/mechanical engineering student who'd like to work in the simulator construction business after graduating, and this kind of stuff might be helpful for that!

I know a little bit of C++, and I'd like to improve my abilities with it. I wanted to write a program which would act like a GPS logger, recording a track of your location which can be overlaid on a map. From all I can see, though, Devicelink doesn't give positional information like that at the moment. Is there any way to extend Devicelink to provide some equivalent to lat/lon coordinates, or should I go away and think of something else to do instead?

Thanks for providing this!
Dozer_EAF19 (trainee)

Known elsewhere in the known universe as "PhilipsCDRW".
Dozer_EAF19
Air Cadet Level 1

Postby IV/JG1_Oesau on Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:59 am

Do mean to log where you are on the map, or all aircraft?

There is a lot of information that is kept about aircraft position and there was a application that was used by some a couple of years ago that provided information on all a/c positions.

Now I say some had it, becauase it was basically a cheat and once it was found to be used there were a lot of unhappy people.
IV/JG1_Oesau
Squadron Leader

Postby Dozer_EAF19 on Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:15 pm

Oh, I only meant for the player's aircraft.

Il-2 lacks the capacity to show you exactly where you flew after your flight, as a line on a map. That's all I wanted to do - log the position, alt, and perhaps where you are firing your weapons, so they can be displayed on a map (or with a real-world GPS-logger track viewer) after the flight.